Onikuma 品牌建设

¥270,000,000
¥270,000,000
2018年销售收入

的挑战。

在2016年,在他们成为Onikuma Gaming之前,一个早期电子商务创业公司的5人团队开始在亚马逊上销售游戏耳机。当时事情进展得很顺利,但团队没有品牌,也没有办法真正从竞争对手中脱颖而出。

这个团队的任务是建立一个独特的品牌,让Somos在日益拥挤的游戏外设领域的竞争中脱颖而出。这就是Onikuma Gaming是如何诞生的故事。

Somos从品牌名称--Onikuma Gaming开始,从零开始打造了整个品牌。品牌背后的故事和魔力包括标志设计、平面设计、独特的人物IP、视觉识别(VI)指南、产品和生活方式摄影,以及定制化的Shopify网站。

到2019年,这家5人的创业公司发展到了50多名员工,年销售额突破4200万美元。Somos这些年与Onikuma一起成长,我们很高兴能分享我们的故事。

我们的所作作为

  • 品牌概念及命名
  • 标志设计与动画  
  • 文案撰写 - 口号和品牌故事
  • IP特征、关键视觉设计与平面设计
  • 视觉识别(VI)指导手册  
  • 产品和生活方式摄影  
  • 网站设计与开发  

成果

我们的目标是让Onikuma Gaming几乎获得了他们推出品牌所需的一切,并成功地完成了这项挑战。

某些方面,如平面设计和VI指南的时间明显比其他方面要长,但我们把事情按时间顺序放在这里,以展示我们是如何诞生这个恶魔宝宝的。整个项目花了3.5-4个月的时间完成了所有的反馈和修改。

看着Onikuma Gaming公司从最初的默默无闻成长起来,很开心,也很有成就感。我们非常期待看到他们接下来的发展。

我们的成功秘诀

部分

1

概念化

从我们在品牌设计过程中引入的风格景观中,两个团队都知道我们将从日本文化中汲取灵感。在我们收集到的概念创意中,两个团队都特别喜欢日本传统的面具。在我们审查过的面具中,最突出的是 "鬼怪 "面具。

他们叫Oni的那个

我们知道这就是我们要走的方向,所以在日本妖怪概念的基础上,我们创造了一个独特的标志--熊妖。在坚持品牌的行业定位的基础上,我们最终确定了大熊游戏这个名字。

部分

2

发展历程

Somos团队以Oni面具为灵感,创造了4个标志概念。在决定其他一些概念可能太过 "前卫 "之后,我们确定了最初的概念。在稍作修改后,我们最终确定了我们的标志。

调色板

因为我们在打造一个以恶魔为灵感的品牌时,红色、白色和黑色是自然而然的颜色选择,反映出小野马的大胆存在。

IP特征、关键视觉设计与平面设计

在确定了我们的标志、颜色和字体之后,我们开始为品牌创造一个独特的IP角色。在这个阶段,我们借鉴了一系列的电竞元素作为灵感来源。在玩了很多概念性的想法之后,我们将其缩小到了两个角色的选择。最终,我们最终确定了 "工程师大熊 "这个角色。我们制作了一个主角色和3个附加角色,每个产品系列1个。角色准备好后,我们制作了一些关键的视觉效果,以展示大鬼熊的自然栖息地,并在即将到来的网站和品牌资料中使用。

视觉识别指南

我们把我们为品牌制作的所有东西都集合在这本视觉识别指南中,并附上了明确的使用指南。当我们在开会讨论新制作的品牌VI指南的时候,我们开始和小日本团队讨论起了附魔的力量。谈到附魔的话题,我们注意到很多玩家(包括我们自己在内)都能在屏幕前呆上好几个小时而不退缩,仿佛被某种神秘的力量附身。这可能是小野马的恶魔在作祟吗?从这个想法出发,我们提出了品牌的口号:"游戏如入魔"。我们开始思考大鬼谷子的来历,意识到他一定是伴随着品牌创始人刘明的一生。我们以刘明在中国农村小山村成长的个人故事为基础,记录了他与鬼谷子相遇的那一天,听到了鬼谷子神秘的歌声,并改变了他的一生。

部分

3

最后确定

在这个阶段,我们已经为Onikuama创建了品牌指南和初步的视觉内容。接下来要做的就是在他们的新网站和社交渠道上实施。

产品和生活方式摄影

随着品牌指南的完成,是时候开始准备网站所需的剩余照片资产了,因为品牌现有的亚马逊白底照片无法产生理想的视觉效果。我们选择了几款产品来制作主人公照片,并处理了所有的拍摄和后期制作。

网站设计

现在,是时候把我们所做的一切,在品牌的自定义代码Shopify网站上实现了。我们所做的大量内容大大加快了这个过程。

主要经验

我们的目标是为Onikuma Gaming提供他们推出品牌所需的一切,并成功地完成了这一挑战。这是一项巨大的工作,整个项目花了3.5-4个月的时间完成了所有的反馈和修改。某些方面,比如说平面设计和VI指南的时间要比其他方面长得多,但我们在这里按时间顺序排列,以展示我们是如何诞生出这个恶魔宝宝的。看着Onikuma Gaming从他们卑微的起点成长起来,真的很有趣,看到他们从早期到现在已经走了多远,真的很有成就感。我们真的很期待看到他们下一步的发展!

查看更多项目

Onikuma Branding

The Challenge.

In 2016 before they became Onikuma Gaming, a 5-man team at an early stage e commerce startup startedselling gaming headsets on Amazon. Things were going well, but the team had nobrand or any way to truly stand out from their competitors.

This teamtasked Somos with building a unique brand to set themselves apart from theircompetitors in the increasingly crowded gaming peripherals space. This is thestory of how Onikuma Gaming was born.

Somos builtthis entire brand from scratch, starting from the brand name Onikuma Gaming, thestory and magic behind the brand, logo design, graphic design including aunique character IP, animated logo and Visual Identity (VI) guidebook, productand lifestyle photography, and a custom coded Shopify website.

By 2019, this 5-man startup grew to over 50 employeesand passed over $42 million USD in annual sales. Somos has grown with Onikumaover the years, and we’re thrilled to share our story.

What we did.

  • Brand Concept & Naming
  • Logo Design & Animation  
  • Copywriting – Slogan & Brand Story
  • IP Character, Key Visuals & Graphic Design
  • Visual Identity (VI) Guidebook  
  • Product & Lifestyle Photography  
  • Website Design & Development  

The Results.

We set out to give Onikuma Gaming nearly everything they needed to launch their brand, and succeeded in this challenge.

Certain aspects, such as the graphic design and VI guidebook took significantly longer than others, but we’ve put things here in chronologicalorder to showcase how we gave birth to this demon baby. The entirety of the project took 3.5 - 4 months to complete with all rounds of feedback and revisions.

It’s been fun watching Onikuma Gaming grow from their humble origins, and really rewarding to see how far they’ve come since the early days. We’re really excited to see what they do next!

Our Recipe for success

Part

1

Conceptualization

Originating from the stylescapes we introduced early in our branding process, both teams knew that we were going to be drawing inspiration from Japanese culture. Of the concept ideas we gathered, both teams were especially drawn to traditional Japanese masks. Of the masks we reviewed, the one that stood out the most was the Oni (Demon) mask.

The one they call Oni

Knowing that this is the direction we would be taking; we went another step further to build on the Japanese Oni demon idea to create the unique concept of the Onikuma – a bear demon. Staying true to the brand’s industry, we finally settled on the name of Onikuma Gaming.

Part

2

Development

The Somos team created 4 logo concepts, inspired by the Oni mask. After deciding that some of our other concepts might be a bit too “edgy”, we settled on the first concept. After some slight revisions, we arrived at our final logo.

Color Palette

As we were well underway of creating a demon-inspired brand, red, white and black were natural color palette choices to reflect Onikuma’s strong presence.

IP Character, Key Visuals & Graphic Design

With our logo, colors and fonts decided, we moved on to create a unique IP character for this brand. We were inspired by a lot of gaming references at this stage. After playing around with a lot of concept ideas, we narrowed it down to 2 choices for the character. Ultimately we settled on the “Engineer Onikuma” character. We created a main pose and 3 additional poses, 1 for each product line. With our character ready, we created some key visuals to showcase Onikuma in his natural habitat, for use on the upcoming website and brand materials.

Visual Identity Guidebook

We assembled everything we made for the brand with clear usage guidelines in this Visual Identity guidebook. While meeting to run through our newly created brand VI guidebook, we started discussing the powers of the demon with the Onikuma team. The topic of possession came up, and we noticed that a lot of gamers (including ourselves) can spend hours in front of a screen without flinching, almost as if they were possessed by some mysterious force. Could this be the Onikuma demon at work? From this idea came the brand’s slogan: “Game like one possessed.” We started contemplating the origins of the Onikuma demon and realized that he must have been accompanying the brand’s founder, Liu Ming throughout his life. We built on Liu’s own personal story of growing up in a small village in rural China to document the fateful day he encountered the Onikuma, heard his mysterious song and had his whole life changed.

Part

3

Finalization

At this stage, we had created the brand guidelines and an initial batch of intriguing visual content for Onikuama. All that was left to do is implement it on their new website and social channels!

Product & Lifestyle Photography

With the brand guidebook finished, it was time to start prepping the remaining photo assets we would need for the website, as the brand’s existing white background Amazon photos would not produce the desired visual effect. We chose several products to create hero shots for and handled all shooting and post production.

Website Design

Now it was time to take everything we had made and bring it to life in the brand’s custom coded Shopifywebsite. The sheer amount of content we made speeded this step up greatly.

Key Takeaways

We set out to give Onikuma Gaming nearly everything they needed to launch their brand, and succeeded in this challenge. This was a huge amount of work, and each element of this case study was really a separate project in itself. The entirety of the project took 3.5-4 months to complete with all rounds of feedback and revisions. Certain aspects, such as the graphic design and VI guidebook took significantly longer than others, but we’ve put things here in chronological order to showcase how we gave birth to this demon baby. It’s been fun watching Onikuma Gaming grow from their humble origins, and really rewarding to see how far they’ve come since the early days. We’re really excited to see what they do next!

View More Projects